Being Swaptastic In Mount Pleasant


I love Mount Pleasant, yet I hardly know the neighborhood. But one of my bus routes runs right through the neighborhood, and it has always seemed like a really neat area – historic homes set into the hilly edges of Rock Creek Park, and a main street that boasts an authentic neighborhood feel.

Today I got to explore Mount Pleasant a bit further at an event called Exchange Your Ways, hosted by fashion blog QuarterLife202 at a vintage clothing shop moving into Mount Pleasant – Nana. It was part of National Swap Day.

Here’s how it worked:

  1. Signed up for the event on EventBrite. Tickets ran 11-ish dollars (Awesome deal!).
  2. Showed up at Nana at 3068 Mt. Pleasant Street, NW.
  3. Dropped off donations from 11 am – 12 pm.
  4. Spent an hour exploring Mt. Pleasant. QuarterLife202 gave out coupons for Haydee’s, a local Latin American restaurant – which was delicious, by the way. What a fabulous way to encourage supporting local businesses!
  5. Returned to Nana from 1 – 3 pm. Everything was up for grabs – shoppers took all they could carry. [Ensue chaotic, but fun shopping!]

All the items not shopped for were donated to GoodWill.

The aftermath of more than 100 swappers and shoppers.

QuarterLife202 blogger Lisa Rowan said, “Swaps are great for sustainability, saving money, and maintaining overall common sense and good health.”

Some of my favorite finds: a sequin shrug, a purple satin H&M dress, a LBD, two business skirts, and a sassy red Ann Taylor purse. I’d count my experience a success.

The experience has got me in the mood to check out other vintage and thrift stores in DC. Any others I should add to the list?

In a city that’s way too expensive to live in, I find solace in affordable, classy clothes.

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in DCist, neighborhood, public transportation, Shopping, young professional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being Swaptastic In Mount Pleasant

  1. Pingback: 1st Annual SwapDay USA | The Swapaholics

  2. Kaarin says:

    I think you should add Junction on U Street to your vintage / thrift list. I once found a Dior skirt there for $40 and I about died of a couture heart attack right in the store! Great post!

    Like

  3. Meg Biallas says:

    Kaarin – thanks for your note. I will add this to my list, for sure. I haven’t been there yet, but it sounds like you got a good deal!

    Like

  4. Desmond says:

    Sounds like Fun!

    Like

Leave a comment