A Beautiful Day In My Neighborhood


I stopped putzing around and finally did it. Last weekend, I biked the Metropolitan Branch Trail in Northeast DC.

It doesn’t sound like much, especially since it’s only eight miles, running from Silver Spring, MD to Union Station in DC. But I love exploring DC. And I had absolutely no excuse not to do this since:

(a) it runs right through my neighborhood,

(b) I had a completely free (and sunny!) Saturday morning, and

(c) I’m a proud member of Capital Bikeshare, yessir!

The trail is ideal for commuters who work on the Hill, but it’s also great for leisure and exercise, and is accessible by several of the neighborhoods along the route (Brookland, Edgewood, Eckington, NoMa) via entrances like the S Street Pocket Park (4th and S Street NE). 

Last August, there was a MBT Day of Service, which I heard about through the affiliated Facebook group. As part of the Rails-to-Trails Conservancy project, the MBT offers an urban feel with a dead-on view of the Capitol when headed south. There’s even a mural and several pieces of artwork along the trail. Here are a few photos of my route south to the Capitol. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in DCist. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

