10 Things I Learned During My First Year In The Real World


I’m closing out a year with my first roommates in the “real world”. We’re all moving on to new housing opportunities, but I think I’ll always remember my year in 512.  Over the last year, I navigated my first professional job. I managed a budget. I did my taxes (well, my roommate-the-CPA helped).

Jessie and Jaime taught me essential survival skills that I would otherwise be helpless without:

  1. Don’t buy “tub” frosting; make it from scratch.
  2. Per #1, it is completely acceptable to bake, but only one-tenth of said baked goods may remain in the apartment. The rest must be distributed elsewhere.
  3. Why go to a store when you can shop online?
  4. Per #3, clothing should make an appearance in the form of a “fashion show” for the other roommates, who will offer either praise or recommendations.
  5. Saturday mornings are meant for lots of coffee and the VHI Music Video Countdown.
  6. There is no judgment in apartment 512 (i.e. When working through issues with the opposite sex, all roommates will commiserate together by eating homemade baked mac and cheese with a glass of wine).
  7. You can never eat enough vegetables, which may include, but are not limited to: squash, zucchini, kale and brussel sprouts. The more exotic the vegetable, the better.
  8. There will always be awkward moments in the laundry room with neighbors we only ever see in the laundry room.
  9. Not every roommate will convert to Twitter (Meg tried to Twitter-vangelize them, but to no avail).
  10. Keep a coupon binder like the people on the show “Extreme Couponing” and be proud of it. Savvy shopping is rewarded!

Thanks, Ladies! It’s been fun. 
About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in DCist, neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 Things I Learned During My First Year In The Real World

  1. Meg, that’s hilarious! Best of luck in your future endeavors! Please don’t let the Capitol building topple on you or the hurricane sweep you away!

    Like

  2. Sarah Koci Scheilz says:

    Love this post — especially the one about the roommate fashion shows! So fun.

    Like

  3. Meg Biallas says:

    Mallory: Thanks! They were fun roommates, and I’m excited for the next adventure.

    Sarah: Fashion shows are the best. My sister and I always did them growing up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

