Near-Death Experiences And Other Maryland Camping Adventures


Thus far, I’ve found that my out-of-DC trips tend to be some of my most interesting. (Enjoying the best Korean BBQ meal, getting baptized in the Chesapeake Bay, and massive outlet mall shopping). DC is a great city, but sometimes it’s good to get some fresh air.

I took advantage of this Labor Day weekend with a camping excursion at Patapsco Valley State Park, near Ellicott City, Maryland. I was so hyped about my first wilderness experience – sans Girl Scouts – that I tweeted about buying my trout license. (Yes, you are required to buy one, lest the Fishing Police catch you!).

One hour outside the city and you can commune with nature!

Perfect camping recipe:

  • 3 days, 2 nights – was the perfect amount of time – thanks to the holiday weekend.
  • It was a short 1 hour ride out of the District, very manageable by car. The weather was more than cooperative; it was in the sixties and seventies.
  • I even came away from the experience with a trout (and the premature onset of seasonal allergies)!

And now a warning to those of you who might ever visit Patapsco Valley State Park: if you run across a set of railroad tracks, please know that it is ACTIVE. In a series of very frightening events, my friends and I nearly arrived at the Pearly Gates. Thank goodness I had my camera at the ready, as a freight train nearly ran us over!

That night, while sleeping under the stars, I think all of us shuddered as we hear the faint choo-choo’s echo throughout the park. Lesson learned. (And we came away with a really great story, right?)

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in DCist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Near-Death Experiences And Other Maryland Camping Adventures

  1. Pingback: Fall is for Lit Fans, Crafty Bastards and Local Historians | Capital Comment

Leave a Reply

