The Spiritual Communities (Part III)


If there’s one thing I took away from my semester in Washington, D.C., it’s this: You can create community wherever you go. The following communities developed during my time in D.C. and each shaped me as a person and a professional. In this last post in the series, I give recognition to the groups that have shaped me spiritually.

National Community Church – I thank my Butler friend (Hope) for telling me about National Community Church. She’d given me a copy of “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day” by pastor Mark Batterson. It was a great read about taking risks boldly. When I found out his church was in D.C., I knew I had to pay a visit. The first location I attended was at the movie theatre located in Union Station. Not your average church setting, right? But it was still neat. While I was in D.C. the movie theatre actually shut down – so the church is currently looking for a new location. That’s when I switched over the the coffeehouse – that’s right, NCC runs a coffeehouse called “Ebenezer’s” just east of the train station that also serves as a church. On Sundays, it attracts a good number of homeless people who gather there for the free coffee and donuts. Ebenezer’s makes a mean Chai tea latte.

My “Alpha Family” (Small Group) – Once I started going to NCC, I couldn’t stop! I joined a small group called Alpha – and they became a great group of friends. We bonded during Fall Getaway (in West Virginia) and got to hang out apart from our Monday night meetings. My friend Jess got baptized in November. On our last night of small group we bonded over appetizers at Capitol City Brewery (yes, you can see the Capitol outside the windows!). During my last week in D.C. I helped serve over 300 cups of hot chocolate in the Capitol Hill neighborhood for NCC’s Live Nativity event. So cold, but so worth it! To my group – Juliet, JT, Jess, Daphne, Leigh, Alex, Will and Elanie – I miss you already.

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in public transportation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

