Adieu, D.C.


I’m back at school now, and it’s been a rough adjustment. It’s a challenge shifting gears from a full-time intern and part-time tourist to that of a Second Semester Senior in a midwestern city in the “Butler Bubble.”

Thanks for reading this blog over the last four months. I loved living in D.C., working at NPR and meeting some fascinating people. Here’s to hoping that I can add to this blog in the future.

Top 10 Things I Will Miss About D.C.

  1. Pulling all-nighters at NPR to work on Intern Edition. Learning about the Solar Decathlon and writing my first radio story about it.
  2. Seeing Susan Stamberg in the morning coffee line.
  3. Never getting bored with the sight of the Capitol.
  4. Riding the metro. It’s easy and it helps the environment.
  5. Moderating comments on NPR.org – and reading all the things our listeners have to say. (And they have a lot to say).
  6. Free Museums. Free events. Free is good, especially for an unpaid intern.
  7. Reading The Express or The Examiner, the free newspapers on the metro.
  8. Running through Rock Creek Park – and that it takes me all the way to the Lincoln Memorial.
  9. The charming Woodley Park neighborhood – the uphill walk to the grocery store and the many ethic restaurants within reach.
  10. Living in the nation’s capital in a neighborhood that I will never be able to afford again in my life. (Priceless!)

I also got to feel closer to national and political events while I was in D.C. Here are just a few things that happened while I was there (this is not all-inclusive, merely what I can recall from my experiences):

  • Healthcare Bill debate – my roommate put in extra hours on the Hill to be part of history.
  • Berlin Wall Anniversary – when I met Madeleine Albright.
  • Fort Hood shooting
  • D.C. Sniper executed
  • NPR iPhone App to Android
  • DC fights for gay marriage rights
  • NPR’s Carl Kassell retires…sort of.
  • NPR’s new “cosmos and culture” blog: 13:7
  • Snowpocalypse of 2009 – The East Coast Storm
About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in Butler Program, Internship, National Public Radio, public transportation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

