The Social Communities (Part II)


If there’s one thing I took away from my semester in Washington, D.C., it’s this: You can create community wherever you go. The following community developed during my time in D.C. and each shaped me as a person and a professional.

In this post, I give recognition to the friends I developed in my living space.

The Washington Center – I got to live in my own mini-Butler community at the Washington Center in D.C.’s Woodley Park neighborhood. It was nice to feel an established sense of community when everything else seemed so unfamiliar at first.

My roommates –  Paige, Katie, Angela, Alexa and Betsy were a really cohesive group, which made the living situation such a blessing. I thank them for putting up with my constant obsession with Twitter and my late-night tea drinking.

Together, we explored the city (nearly every touristy thing you could imagine), wandered into some neat (and not-so-neat) parts of town, and shared meals in a very tiny kitchen. I got to share in Katie’s excitement when she worked late in the Speaker’s Office during the healthcare vote in early November. Paige told me about her adventures sitting in on editorial meetings for National Geographic. (She and her parents even invited me for drinks at the Omni Shoreham Hotel!) Betsy visited every Smithsonian museum (all 19 of them!) and Alexa compiled a list of every bar she made a stop at. Betsy and Angela helped me tour NYC for the first time. In recent news, Angela graduated in December and got engaged on Christmas Eve!

The Butler Program – also included Marguerite, Carly, Kim, Dan, John and Caleb. Together, we took some weekend seminars like “Baseball in the District” and “Presidential Assassinations.” It was a small enough group to get to know everyone, but large enough that we had fun on our touristy group outings.

This group became my “Butler away from Butler” and I enjoyed getting to know each of them (and their wonderful quirks!) Thanks, guys and gals!

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in Butler Program, Internship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

