Capitol Hill ‘Hood


There are a lot of great neighborhoods in the District, but one of my favorites is in the Capitol Hill area. You probably know that the National Mall extends west off of the Capitol. But the east side is mostly residential – brick sidewalks, kitschy row houses contribute to a quaint feel. I found myself hanging out there last Friday night.

Capitol Hill Neighborhood

via Flickr/ohad

An employee from NPR invited several the interns to his row house in the Capitol Hill neighborhood for some homemade Thai food (I’m talking home-cooked chicken pate, peanut sauce and tofu)!

Later in the evening, about 15 of us stayed so our host could record our conversations about jazz music to get a “young person’s” perspective. It was a focus group of sorts – probably because he writes for “A Blog Supreme” which covers jazz music at NPR. Really, though, I just enjoyed listening to everyone discuss different jazz pieces; I can’t call my self an expert by any means.

This was not my first time hanging out in D.C. neighborhood – and surprisingly, most people I’ve met at parties are not interns (though they may have recently been). Over the semester, I’ve met folks at with the United Nations, GreenWire, the National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty, the Discovery Channel, and plenty of young NPR temps. The city – if I haven’t said it before – is a unique mix of governmental workers and non-profit employees.

The house was row-style, high ceilings and wood floors – a great place to host forty people, surprisingly enough. And it was nice to be in someone’s home. It allowed me to step out of my transient state (I’m so over the intern housing).

At the end of the night, I found myself walking to the metro with a few friends. I paused for a moment while crossing the street. The neighborhood was almost peaceful. As I gazed down the street, I could see the Capitol brightly lit against the black sky. It was practically at arms length.

I took it in, wanting that moment to last forever.

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in Internship, National Public Radio, public transportation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

