i.e. (npr in other words)


This week has kept me on my toes!

I’ve been busy working on a story for NPR’s Intern Edition. I won’t give it away just yet, but I can say I made three visits to the National Mall in less than 24 hours.  A huge shout out to my three photographers who’ve accompanied me on those visits (Sarah, Maggie and Brett!)

I even got practice using a Marantz audio recorder. The ergonomics are different from using a video camera, so I’ve had to adjust. But in this day in age, journalists have to be flexible.

Intern Edition just launched our blog. It has new content daily, including musing from our nearly 40 interns. You’ll find it a collection of creative writing, essays, reflection on the quarterlife experience and photo slideshows. Our theme is “i.e. (npr in other words).”

Fall '09 Intern Edition logo

Fall '09 Intern Edition logo

Here are some of featured areas:

The Word – Word-inspired posts from the English language.

F* is for Friday – A creative prompt; an outlet for our interns to express a creative thought or two.

In Your Shoes – Guest writers’ reflections on life in their 20s and 30s. Want to contribute? Let us know.

Interludes – Music critiques. Not my personal expertise, but those who write know a thing or two about tunes.

The Darkroom – The best visuals from the talented photographers in the group.

And if you’re on Twitter, follow NPRinterns, an account I help update on behalf of the team of interns. This week I helped organize Social Media Training for my fellow interns. My supervisor and social medi guru, Andy Carvin, introduced newbies to Twitter and explained it use for community reporting and research.

Today I ventured out with my roommate, sorority sis, and fellow journalist to the acclaimed Newseum. The topic fit better with my personal blog on media, ethic and faith, so you read about my experience here.

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in Internship, National Public Radio. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i.e. (npr in other words)

  1. Josie says:

    Yea, what an awesome rundown! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Intern Edition: A Preview « Capital Comment

  3. marantz says:

    The Darkroom was very interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

