Amid the Athletes


This weekend I took one of my three weekend seminars. The topic? “Assassinations in the Nation’s Capital.” A trip to Ford’s Theatre ensued, along with some fascinating info about the deaths of Lincoln, FDR, Kennedy and others who died in office (but from natural causes). A strangely morbid topic, I think.

When the class ended on Saturday morning, I hit up the grocery store (I’m a pro at shopping lightly, but often) and then decided to go on a run.

Rock Creek Park is a great place to explore and the trail leads runners, cyclists and other adventurers from the National Zoo all the way south to the National Mall and monuments. I’d traveled a mile or two on it recently, but Saturday I wanted to go all the way. I wanted to end up right at the Lincoln Memorial.

The entire trip turned into a 2-hour excursion. The creek turned into the Potomac River and I knew I was downtown when I found myself parallel to the Potomac and the Kennedy Center. In fact, I remembered the venue was hosting a free open house. But I decided my current state would not be quite appropriate for the artistic event.

Kennedy Center on the Potomac

About ten minutes later I ran through a volleyball park. That’s right. There were nearly 100 people playing volleyball in a public park – and they were enjoying the beautiful weather.

But they weren’t the only athletes. Once I arrived at the monuments, I noticed a group of swimmers in the river. They were doing time trials for the Nation’s Triathalon which took place today. Talk about serious athletes! It was ironic, too, because just a day prior was the whole Coast Guard training fiasco (If you don’t know what I’m talking about click on the link).

I headed up towards the Lincoln Memorial and saw a bridal party taking pictures on the grassy lawn. What a gorgeous day and a beautiful place for pictures! (If only I’d had a camera on me)

The steps were crowded – with lots of tourists in town for the weekend. But I managed to get a peek at old Abe and read one of his speeches etched on the walls. I don’t know how anyone can NOT feel patriotic standing on those steps and looking down the Mall. It was majestic.

Lincoln Memorial

Watching my time, I decided to run back home rather than locate a metro stop. Needless to say, after 6 whole miles my body “felt the burn.” But it was so worth it.

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in Butler Program, public transportation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amid the Athletes

  1. Mom says:

    You go, girl!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Adieu, D.C. « Capital Comment

Leave a Reply

