NPR: On the Inside


NPR LogoMy first week at NPR gave me just an inkling of the wonderful things in store for me and the other interns this semester.

The atmosphere. NPR is buzzing with creativity, deep thinkers and smart people. I’ve got my own desk, a phone and a name plate (even if it’s a paper one) The social media team does get a bit window real estate for a view of DC’s skyline. It’s the largest building I’ve worked in yet, but I am excited to explore.

The interns. They come from universities all across the country. Their interests are varies and their personalities are rich and endearing. Although, I can’t say I’ve met them all just yet (there are over 25, with 2 in California and 1 in Chicago). I am so looking forward to getting to know them better – they are sure to be good colleagues (if not good friends) down the road.

The hidden secrets. There is always something new to learn. This week I discovered the rooftop garden. It’s a great place to have lunch and enjoy the breeze. There’s also the music department (right near me) with bookshelves of music, and writers busy blogging about jazz and whatnot.

About Meg Biallas

Thoughts From A DC Intern Turned DCist. A twenty-something goes beyond traditional tourism to achieve Washingtonian authenticity.
This entry was posted in Internship, National Public Radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

